Email DCG

Wanuskewin Heritage Park

Capital Campaign

At Canada’s Wanuskewin Heritage Park, one of the most significant initiatives celebrating Indigenous peoples in our nation today is underway. This living reminder will honour Pre-Contact Indigenous life on the Great Plains, as a link to our past and a bridge to reconciliation unlike any other National Historic Site in the country. Wanuskewin will be a global destination, sharing its peoples’ rich contribution to developing our country over 6,000 years. Wanuskewin is launching a bold plan to revitalize the park to reach its full potential and take its place among Canada’s premier cultural destinations with a vision to be Saskatchewan’s first UNESCO World Heritage Site.


Campaign Chair

Wayne Brownlee, Executive Vice President & CFO, PotashCorp

Felix Thomas, Tribal Chief, Saskatoon Tribal Council

Campaign Leadership:

Zeba Ahmad
D. Scott Banda
Chief Darcy Bear
L. David Dubé
Blaine Favel
Tim Gitzel
Grant Isaac
George E. Lafond, S.O.M.
Kelly J. Lendsay
Keith Martell
Gary Merasty
W. Thomas Molloy, O.C.
John Scarfe
Robert Stromberg, Q.C.
Jochen Tilk
Ron Waldman
Dr. Ernest Walker, O.C.

Campaign Highlights

Thundering Ahead Capital Campaign: In Public Phase

Campaign Goal: $40M

Wanuskewin Seeks to Become 1st UNESCO Site in SK

Dr. Ernest Walker’s Viewpoint: The Hope and Promise of Wanuskewin

Bison Returning to Expanded Wanuskewin

November 16, 2016: Legislative Assembly of the Government of Saskatchewan passes a motion to support Wanuskewin’s effort to seek UNESCO

August 31, 2016: City of Saskatoon supports Wanuskewin’s UNESCO Aspirations with signed 99-year, $1/year land lease

July 2016: Chiefs in Assembly pass the resolution that the Assembly of First Nations work with Wanuskewin to support the Thundering Ahead and UNESCO objectives

May 25, 2016: The Chiefs of the FSIN unanimously passed a resolution to work with Wanuskewin to support the campaign and UNESCO bid

February 25, 2016: The Chiefs of the Saskatoon Tribal Council unanimously passed a resolution via motion to support Wanuskewin’s renewal and campaign